--- title: "How to switch teams between designer and collaborator" slug: "how-to-switch-teams-between-committer-and-collaborator" description: "Easily edit your settings to make a team committers or collaborators. See how you can do it here." updated: 2026-09-14T16:58:44Z published: 2026-09-14T16:58:44Z canonical: "learn.allspice.io/how-to-switch-teams-between-committer-and-collaborator" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://learn.allspice.io/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # How to switch teams between designer and collaborator This article covers how to edit the team settings to make a team Designers or Collaborators Any team with the "Designers" label is a Designer team. Any team without the label is a "Collaborator group". ![Screen Shot 2023-02-28 at 5.16.02 PM.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/Screen%20Shot%202023-02-28%20at%205.16.02%20PM.png) Here are two teams. Design Engineers is a Designer group and Technicians is a Collaborator group ![Screen Shot 2023-02-28 at 5.13.21 PM.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/Screen%20Shot%202023-02-28%20at%205.13.21%20PM.png) To edit the settings of an individual team, click on the team name or visit the team page ``` https://hub.allspice.io/org/yourOrganization/teams/yourTeamName ``` Click on the "Settings" button ![settings.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/settings.png) If the Permission is set to Administrator Access, the team will count towards the billable Designers total. ![Screen Shot 2023-02-28 at 5.23.14 PM.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/Screen%20Shot%202023-02-28%20at%205.23.14%20PM.png) If the Permission is set to General Access, the only setting that affects the team status is the Files permission. - Paid: If the Files Permission is set to Write, then the team is counted towards the contributor limit. - Set the team file permission to write if you want the teammembers to be able to push file commits to the server. ![Screen Shot 2023-02-28 at 5.41.57 PM.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/Screen%20Shot%202023-02-28%20at%205.41.57%20PM.png) - Free: If the Files permission is set to Read or No Access, the team is not counted towards the contributor limit. - Set the team file permission to read if you want to add unlimited read only collaborators to the team. ![Screen Shot 2023-02-28 at 5.42.17 PM.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/Screen%20Shot%202023-02-28%20at%205.42.17%20PM.png) - You will know if the group is counting towards the limit or not if you see this message above the Update Settings button. "Designers feature selected: Users on this team will ocunt toareds the billable Designers total". ![Screen Shot 2023-02-28 at 5.28.23 PM.png](https://cdn.document360.io/3d44af5c-3f49-4ca5-b152-10836a885c13/Images/Documentation/Screen%20Shot%202023-02-28%20at%205.28.23%20PM.png) [main accounts article](/v1/docs/allspice-accounts).